Miranda Lambert, Luke Combs & Ethan Hulse Among 2021 Nashville Songwriter Awards Winners

, , Comments Off on Miranda Lambert, Luke Combs & Ethan Hulse Among 2021 Nashville Songwriter Awards Winners

On Tuesday evening, the Nashville Songwriters Association International honored the winners of the fourth annual Nashville Songwriter Awards, which was held as a virtual ceremony.

“Bluebird,” written by Miranda Lambert, Luke Dick and Natalie Hemby, was recognized as song of the year, while Luke Combs was named songwriter-artist of the year.

Ethan Hulse became the first predominantly Christian songwriter to be honored as NSAI’s songwriter of the year. During the eligibility period, Hulse had hits with Andrew Ripp’s “Jericho,” Cain’s “Rise Up (Lazarus),” Cory Asbury’s “The Father’s House,” Josh Baldwin’s “Evidence” and more.

Numerous songwriters also shared the stories behind the compositions that were honored as part of the “10 Songs I Wish I Had Written” awards, which are voted on by NSAI’s professional songwriter members to honor the work of their peers. Songs eligible for the honor must have at least one Nashville-based writer and had to have charted within the top 20 of a Billboard airplay chart within the Christian, country, mainstream top 40 and/or rock genres within the eligibility period. The highest-voted song is honored as NSAI song of the year.

See below for a list of songs honored as the “10 Songs I Wish I Had Written”:

“7 Summers” – Written by: Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne, Morgan Wallen
“Ain’t Always The Cowboy” – Written by: Brandon Kinney, Josh Thompson
“Chasin’ You” – Written by: Jamie Moore, Morgan Wallen, Craig Wiseman
“Die From A Broken Heart” – Written by: Taylor Dye, Maddie Marlow, Deric Ruttan, Jonathan Singleton
“Hell Of A View” – Written by: Casey Beathard, Eric Church, Monty Criswell
“I Called Mama” – Written by: Marv Green, Lance Miller, Jimmy Yeary
“I Hope” – Written by: Gabby Barrett, Zachary Kale, Jon Nite
“I Hope You’re Happy Now” – Written by: Luke Combs, Randy Montana, Carly Pearce, Jonathan Singleton
“One Night Standards” – Written by: Nicolette Hayford, Shane McAnally, Ashley McBride
“Starting Over” – Written by: Mike Henderson, Chris Stapleton

soul, classic soul, motown,