Jorja Smith, Central Cee & More Take Home 2021 GRM Rated Awards: Full Winners List

, , Comments Off on Jorja Smith, Central Cee & More Take Home 2021 GRM Rated Awards: Full Winners List

Jorja Smith won female artist of the year at the 2021 GRM Rated Awards, which celebrates the best talent in the U.K.’s hip-hop and grime music scene. Smith received a Grammy nomination for best new artist three years ago.

British rapper Tion Wayne, who reached No. 11 on the Billboard Global 200 in May, took home awards for track of the year and video of the year for “Body,” a collab with Russ Millions. Central Cee was another two-time winner. He was named male artist of the year and breakthrough of the  year.

The virtual ceremony featured performances by Wayne, Pa Salieu, Backroad Gee, ENNY, Amia Brave, Potter Payper and legacy award winner Heartless Crew.

Hosted by model Jourdan Dunn and actor/comedian Michael Dapaah, the 2021 GRM Rated Awards returned for its sixth year and aired Thursday (Sept. 16) on the hip-hop outlet’s YouTube channel.

The GRM Daily was founded by CEO Koby ‘Post’ Hagan. “Congratulations to all the winners and all the nominees,” Hagan said in a statement following the event. “It’s been an amazing show and we can’t wait to come back as a live event next year.”

Here’s the full list of winners:

Album of the year:

AJ Tracey, Flu Game
Bugzy Malone, The Resurrection
D Block Europe, The Blueprint- Us Vs. Them
Fredo, Money Can’t Buy Happiness
Ghetts, Conflict of Interest — WINNER 
Headie One, EDNA
K Trap, Street Side Effects
Loski, Music, Trial and Trauma: A Drill Story
Nines, Crabs In A Bucket
slowthai, TYRON

Female artist of the year:

Bree Runway 
Ivorian Doll
Jorja Smith — WINNER
Lady Leshurr
Ms Banks
Stefflon Don
Midas The Jagaban  

Male artist of the year: 

AJ Tracey
Abra Cadabra
Central Cee — WINNER
Digga D
Headie One
Potter Payper
Tion Wayne  

Breakthrough of the year:

BackRoad Gee
Central Cee — WINNER 
French The Kid
Pa Salieu

Personality of the year: 

Big Zuu
Harry Pinero
Nella Rose
Michael Dapaah
Mo Gilligan
Munya Chawawa
Niko Omilana — WINNER
Yung Filly
ZeZe Mills  

Track of the year: 

A1 & J1, “Latest Trends”
Abra Cadabra, “On Deck”
Central Cee, “Loading”
Digga D, “Woi”
ENNY, “Peng Black Girls” (ft Amia Brave)
Headie One, Stormzy and AJ Tracey, “Ain’t It Different”
Nines, “Airplane Mode” (ft NSG)
Pa Salieu, “My Family” (ft BackRoad Gee)
Potter Payper, “Purpose”
Tion Wayne & Russ Millions, “Body” — WINNER

Video of the year: 

Aitch, “Safe To Say” (Directed by KC Locke)
AJ Tracey, “Little More Love” (Directed by KC Locke)
Ghetts, “Skengman Mode” (ft. Stormzy) (Directed by Nathan James Tettey)
Headie One, “Princess Cuts” (ft. Young T & Bugsey) (Directed by Capone)
Little Simz,  “Introvert” (Directed by Salomon Ligthelm)
Meekz, “Respect The Come Up” (Directed by KC Locke)
Nines, “Clout” (Directed by Charlie Di Placido)
Pa Salieu, “My Family” (ft. BackRoad Gee) (Directed by Femi Ladi)
Tion Wayne & Russ Millions, “Body” (Directed by Wowa) –WINNER
slowthai, Skepta, “Cancelled” (Directed by THE REST) 

Mixtape of the year:

Abra Cadabra, Product of My Environment
Central Cee, Wild West
Chip, Snakes and Ladders
Digga D, Made In The Pyrex
Giggs, Now Or Never
M Huncho & Nafe Smallz, DNA
NSG, Roots
Pa Salieu, Send Them To Coventry
Potter Payper, Training Day 3 — WINNER
Unknown T, Rise Above Hate  

Radio DJ of the year: 

Charlie Sloth — WINNER
DJ Target
Henrie Kwushue
Kenny Allstar
Robert Bruce
Reece Parkinson
Snoochie Shy
Tiffany Calver
Yinka & Shayna Marie  

Producer of the year: 

5ive Beatz
Chris Rich
M1OnTheBeat – WINNER

Legacy award:

Heartless Crew — WINNER

soul, classic soul, motown,