Billy Strings Is Top Winner at 2021 IBMA Bluegrass Music Awards

, , Comments Off on Billy Strings Is Top Winner at 2021 IBMA Bluegrass Music Awards

Billy Strings was named entertainer of the year and guitar player of the year at the 2021 IBMA Bluegrass Music Awards, which were held Thursday (Sept. 30) at Duke Energy Center for the Performing Arts in Raleigh, N.C.

Strings won new artist of the year at the event two years ago.

The Infamous Stringdusters hosted the 32nd annual awards show, which is put on by the International Bluegrass Music Association.

Appalachian Road Show, Dale Ann Bradley and Sierra Hull were also two-time winners. Appalachian Road Show took instrumental group of the year and new artist of the year. Bradley took female vocalist of the year for the sixth time and tied for gospel recording of the year. Sierra Hull took mandolin player of the year and was among the featured artists on the winner for collaborative recording of the year: Bobby Osborne’s “White Line Fever.”

Other repeat winners in marquee categories included Sister Sadie, which won vocal group of the year for the third consecutive year; and Danny Paisley and Del McCoury, who tied for male vocalist of the year. This was Paisley’s second straight win in that category (and his third overall). It was McCoury’s fifth win in the category, but his first since 1996.

During the ceremony, singer/songwriter Alison Krauss, bandleader/banjoist Lynn Morris, and genre pioneers The Stoneman Family were recognized for their contributions. They were previously announced as inductees into the International Bluegrass Music Hall of Fame.

Last year, Sister Sadie took home awards for both entertainer of the year and vocal group of the year.

Here’s the complete list of winners.

Entertainer of the year: Billy Strings

Vocal group of the year: Sister Sadie

Instrumental group of the year: Appalachian Road Show

Song of the year: “Richest Man,” Balsam Range (artist), Jim Beavers/Jimmy Yeary/Connie Harrington (songwriters), Balsam Range (producer), Mountain Home Records (label)

Album of the yearIndustrial Strength Bluegrass: Southwestern Ohio’s Musical Legacy,  Various Artists, Joe Mullins (producer), Smithsonian Folkways Recordings

Gospel recording of the year (tie): “After While,” Dale Ann Bradley; “In the Resurrection Morning,” Sacred Reunion featuring Doyle Lawson, Vince Gill, Barry Abernathy, Tim Stafford, Mark Wheeler, Jim VanCleve, Phil Leadbetter, Jason Moore

Instrumental recording of the year: “Ground Speed,” Kristin Scott Benson, Skip Cherryholmes, Jeremy Garrett, Kevin Kehrberg, Darren Nicholson

New artist of the year: Appalachian Road Show

Collaborative recording of the year: “White Line Fever,” Bobby Osborne with Tim O’Brien, Trey Hensley, Sierra Hull, Stuart Duncan, Todd Phillips, Alison Brown

Female vocalist of the year: Dale Ann Bradley

Male vocalist of the year (tie): Danny Paisley, Del McCoury

Banjo player of the year: Scott Vestal

Bass player of the year: Missy Raines

Resophonic guitar player of the year: Justin Moses

Fiddle player of the year: Bronwyn Keith-Hynes

Guitar player of the year: Billy Strings

Mandolin player of the year: Sierra Hull

soul, classic soul, motown,