Arlo Parks Leads 2021 AIM Awards Nominations

, , Comments Off on Arlo Parks Leads 2021 AIM Awards Nominations

Singer-songwriter and poet Arlo Parks leads the 2021 AIM Independent Music Awards nominations with four nods.  The virtual ceremony will take place Aug. 25, hosted by Jamz Supernova and Tiffany Calver.

Now in its 22nd year, AIM represents the U.K.’s independent music community.

Parks, 20, is in the running for best independent album for her debut Collapsed in Sunbeams and best independent track for  “Hope,” as well as U.K. independent breakthrough and best independent video for “Hope.”

Collapsed in Sunbeams reached No. 3 on the Official U.K. Albums Chart and was nominated for a Brit Award for British album. Parks won a Brit for breakthrough artist and was nominated for British female solo artist.

Parks, who is half Nigerian, quarter Chadian and quarter French, won the AIM Independent Music Award for one to watch last year and also won BBC introducing artist of the year.

Working Men’s Club is shortlisted for three awards, including best independent album for the their self-titled debut album. Receiving two nods each: AJ Tracey, Bicep, Che Lingo, ENNY, Floating Points, Fontaines D.C., Lava La Rue and Tkay Maidza.

AIM also announced Paulette Long OBE as the first recipient of a new diversity champion award. Long has worked across music publishing, public relations, artist management and marketing in a career spanning more than three decades. She is devoted to encouraging diversity and inclusion in all areas of the business, from creating the U.K. music industry’s first diversity charter to sitting as deputy chair of U.K. music’s diversity task force.

For the first time, AIM also announced two winners of the indie champion award — Bandcamp and Love Record Stores, both of which launched campaigns to support the music industry during the pandemic.

Public voting for best live [streamed] act has opened. To vote, head to the ON AIR website. Voting closes on July 5 at 2 p.m.

This year’s ceremony will be a free public event. AIM has confirmed three broadcast partners, where music fans can tune in to watch the awards: ON AIR, YouTube and Facebook.

This year will also see the return of the AIM Awards App allowing access to exclusive awards content and offers. To download the app head to the app store and search: AIM – Official.

Here’s a partial list of nominees:

U.K. independent breakthrough in association with YouTube Music

Arlo Parks (Transgressive Records)
Conducta (Kiwi Rekords)
India Jordan (Ninja Tune)
Rina Sawayama (Dirty Hit)
Working Men’s Club (Heavenly Recordings)

International breakthrough in association with Deezer

Bicep (Ninja Tune)
Fontaines D.C. (Partisan Records)
Jayda G (Ninja Tune)
박혜진 Park Hye Jin (Ninja Tune)
Tkay Maidza (4AD)

Best independent track in association with Facebook

Arlo Parks – Hope (Transgressive Records)
Bonobo & Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs – Heartbreak (OUTLIER – Ninja Tune)
ENNY – Peng Black Girls ft. Amia Brave (FAMM)
Katy J Pearson – Take Back The Radio (Heavenly Recordings)
Lava La Rue – Magpie (Marathon Artists)
Mustafa – Air Forces (Young)
serpentwithfeet – Fellowship (Secretly Canadian)
Shygirl – TASTY (Because Music)
Squid – Narrator ft. Martha Skye Murphy (Warp Records)
Tkay Maidza – Shook (4AD)

Best independent album in association with Spotify

Arlo Parks – Collapsed in Sunbeams (Transgressive Records)
Che Lingo – The Worst Generation (7Wallace Music)
Dry Cleaning – New Long Leg (4AD)
Floating Points, Pharoah Sanders & The London Symphony Orchestra – Promises (Luaka Bop)
Krust – The Edge of Everything (Crosstown Rebels)
Moses Sumney – græ (Jagjaguwar)
Phoebe Bridgers – Punisher (Dead Oceans)
Speaker Music – Black Nationalist Sonic Weaponry (Planet Mu)
Rian Treanor – File Under UK Metaplasm (Planet Mu)
Working Men’s Club – Working Men’s Club (Heavenly Recordings)

Best independent video in association with Vevo

Arlo Parks – Hope (Transgressive Records)
Julien Baker – Hardline (Matador Records)
Kojaque – No Hands (Different Recordings)
Novo Amor – If We’re Being Honest (AllPoints)
Wesley Joseph – Thrilla (EEVILTWINN)

For the full list of nominees, go here.

soul, classic soul, motown,